

Small Cities Organized Risk Effort (SCORE) Special Board of Directors Meeting Minutes April 19, 2023

Member Cities Present:

Wes Heathcock, City of Colfax Shanna Stahl, City of Colfax Blake Michaelsen, City of Dunsmuir Pamela Eastlick City of Etna Todd Juhasz, City of Dunsmuir Charles Bergson, City of Isleton Aaron Plamer City of Live Oak Sean Rabe, Town of Loomis Kathy LeBlanc, City of Loyalton David Dunn, City of Montague Muriel Terrell, City of Mt. Shasta Jon Kennedy, City of Portola Jessaca Lugo, City of Shasta Lake Heidi Cureton, City of Tulelake Jenny Coelho, City of Tulelake Anna Guzman, City of Weed Sandra Duchi, City of Weed John Elsnab, City of Yreka

Member Cities Absent:

City of Biggs City of Susanville City of Rio Dell

Consultants & Guests

Marcus Beverly, Alliant Insurance Services

Michelle Minnick, Alliant Insurance Services

A. CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Wes Heathcock called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

B. ROLL CALL

The above mentioned members were present constituting a quorum. Cities absent from this meeting were the City of Biggs, City of Rio Dell, City of Susanville.

C. APPROVAL OF AGENDA AS POSTED

A motion was made to approve the Agenda as posted.

MOTION: Kathy LeBlanc SECOND: Jon Kennedy MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY



D. PUBLIC COMMENT

The Board took this time to share stories and memories of Roger Carroll and express thoughts and sympathies. It was noted that once the memorial services are announced the group will receive notice.

E. JPA BUSINESS

E.1. NOMINATION AND SELECTION OF SCORE OFFICER POSITION - TREASURER

The Board was asked to consider nominations and approval of a new Treasurer to take over as a result of the absence. It was discussed if a member of the Executive Committee could take over as the Treasurer, allowing the Board to consider filling that position at the June meeting. After a discussion of the role and responsibilities Blake Michaelsen nominated himself to serve as the SCORE Treasurer.

A motion was made to appoint Blake Michaelsen as the SCORE Treasurer.

MOTION: Todd Juhasz SECOND: Pamela Eastlick MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

E.2.A. SCORE RESOLUTIONS – DELEGATION OF TREASURER RESPONSIBILITIES

It was noted that items E.2.A. and E.2.B. are annual items and require updates due to the recent vacancy of the SCORE Treasurer position.

A motion was made to approve the Resolutions 23-02 and 23-03 naming Blake Michaelsen as the SCORE Treasurer.

MOTION: Sean Rabe SECOND: Pamela Eastlick MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

E.2.B. SCORE RESOLUTIONS – TREASURER DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY FOR LAIF

This item was discussed with Item E.2.A.

E.3. SELECTION OF ERMA BOARD REPRESENTATIVE

After a discussion of the number of meetings annually for both ERMA and CJPRMA it was mentioned that serving on the Board allows members to participate in Closed Session items and provides valuable information for members. After a discussion Muriel Howarth-Terrell volunteered to serve as the ERMA Board Representative for the SCORE JPA.

A motion was made to appoint Muriel Terrell as the ERMA Board Representative.

MOTION: Sean Rabe SECOND: Blake Michaelsen MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY



E.4. SELECTION OF CJPRMA BOARD REPRESENTATIVE AND ALTERNATE

After a discussion Blake Michaelsen volunteered to serve as the CJPRMA Board Representative for the SCORE JPA. Additionally Pamela Eastlick volunteered to serve as the CJPRMA Alternate Representative for the SCORE JPA.

A motion was made to approve Blake Michaelsen as the CJPRMA Board Representative and Pamela Eastlick as the CJPRMA Alternate member.

MOTION: Wes Heathcock

SECOND: Sean Rabe

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

E.5. PAYMENT PLAN REQUEST - CITY OF TULELAKE

The Board was presented with the request from Tulelake – it was noted that the City of Tulelake doesn't have a large retail tax and the city expressed thanks to the board for allowing flexibility on payments for the city.

A motion was made to approve the payment plan for the City of Tulelake as presented.

MOTION: Blake Michaelsen

SECOND: Anna Guzman

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

F. CLOSING COMMENTS

Program Administration thanked the members for being available for the meeting today.

G. AJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 9:35 am

NEXT MEETING DATE: June 24, 2023 Gaia Hotel, Anderson CA

Respectfully Submitted,

Muriel Terrell, Secretary

Date